Presidents of 400 Conservative Synagogues Honored in New York
Menu JTA Search

Presidents of 400 Conservative Synagogues Honored in New York

Download PDF for this date

The presidents of more than 400 Conservative congregations were honored here today by the Jewish Theological Seminary of America for distinguished service to the Jewish community and the cause of Judaism. The synagogue leaders were honored at a special convocation arranged by the Seminary.

A memorial tribute was offered to the late Herbert H. Lehman, life member of the Seminary’s board of directors and until his death, chairman of its board of overseers. Honorary degrees and medals were presented to four well-known Jewish figures; Dr. 1. Edwin Goldwasser, educator and banker; Judge Stanley H. Fuld of the State Court of Appeals; Mrs. Eugene Meyer, author; and Rabbi Ralph Simon of Congregation Rodfei Zedek, Chicago.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund