Menu JTA Search

Cleveland Jewish Welfare Appeal Raises $5, 932, 000 in 1964 Campaign

The 1964 Jewish Welfare Fund Appeal closed with a dinner-meeting here at which the record total of $5, 932, 005 was reported. A large, enthusiastic audience cheered the announcement by Arthur Dery, general chairman who presided, that this year’s result topped the previous high set last year by $102, 789.

This was the 34th annual Welfare Fund Campaign of the Jewish Community Federation, of which M.E. Glass is president and Henry I. Zucker, executive director. Other leaders on the campaign included Sheldon B. Guren. Samuel H. Miller, and Leighton A. Rosenthal, general co-chairmen; Joseph E. Cole, special gifts chairman, with Edward C. Bloomberg, Julius Paris and Louis L. Schaffer, co-chairmen. Gerald S. Soroker was campaign director.