Manitoba Elections Bring Four Jews into Provincial Legislature
Menu JTA Search

Manitoba Elections Bring Four Jews into Provincial Legislature

Download PDF for this date

Four Jews were elected to the provincial legislature of Manitoba, according to the final tabulations today of last week’s province-wide elections. They are Saul Cherniack, Saul Miller, Sydney Green and Sydney Spivack.

All but Mr. Spivack are members of the New Democratic Party. Mr. Spivack, a member of the ruling Progressive Conservative Party, succeeds Maitland Steinkopf, also a Jew, who announced recently that he is retiring from political life and from the Manitoba Cabinet. The previous Manitoba Legislature had three Jews. One of them was Mr. Cherniack, who has now been chosen again. The two others were Mr. Steinkopf, and the late Morris Gray, who died while in office.

Prior to the elections, the Canadian Jewish Congress had issued a statement dissociating itself from proposals that had been made advocating the formation of a political, civic action body comprised of ethnic groups. The CJC reiterated its traditional attitude regarding elections in this country, noting that Canadian Jews vote as citizens and not as members of an ethnic or religious group.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund