J.D.C. Annual Meeting Adopts $23,347,500 Budget for 1967 Activities
Menu JTA Search

J.D.C. Annual Meeting Adopts $23,347,500 Budget for 1967 Activities

Download PDF for this date

A budget of $23,347,500 for relief and rehabilitation work in 1967 in 30 countries, including Israel, was adopted today at the 52nd annual meeting of the Joint Distribution Committee attended by more than 400 Jewish communal leaders from all parts of the United States and Canada. Louis Broido was reelected JDC chairman for a second term.

Mr. Broido, in his presidential report, told the assembled leaders of his on-the-spot studies of the Jewish situation in various countries during 1966 and indicated that he intends to make such studies also early next year by visiting Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia and France where the JDC is engaged in providing relief for tens of thousands of Jews. He appealed “to every American Jew” to support the work of the JDC through the United Jewish Appeal in 1967 and help feed, shelter and save thousands of Jews still in need in many overseas countries.

The 1967 budget adopted today includes $6,400,000 for Malben work conducted by the JDC in Israel; $5,100,000 for aid to Jews in Arab and Moslem countries; $3,400,000 for needy Jews in European countries; $2,000,000 for ORT and reconstruction; $3,250,000 for relief-in-transit; $850,000 for religious and cultural activities in Israel; and the remainder for various other JDC programs.

In addition to reelecting Mr. Broido, the meeting elected Jack D. Weiler as chairman of the JDC National Council and Judge Nachum S. Winnet as vice-chairman. Others elected included: Edward M.M. Warburg and James N. Rosenberg, honorary chairmen; I. Edwin Goldwasser, honorary treasurer; James H. Becker, of Chicago, I. Edwin Goldwasser, Monroe Goldwater, Walter A. Haas of San Francisco, Edwin Rosenberg, William Rosenwald, Joseph J. Schwartz and Jack D. Weiler, all vice chairmen; Joseph I. Lubin and Irving H. Sherman were elected co-treasurers.

Charles H. Jordan was reelected executive vice-chairman and director general; Samuel L. Haber, assistant executive vice-chairman; and Dorothy L. Speiser, secretary and assistant treasurer. Presentations were made to James N. Rosenberg and I. Edwin Goldwasser for five decades of service.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund