Joseph M. First Reelected President of the Jewish Publication Society
Menu JTA Search

Joseph M. First Reelected President of the Jewish Publication Society

Download PDF for this date

Joseph M. First, today was reelected president of the Jewish Publication Society of America at its 79th annual meeting at the Warwick Hotel. The Jewish Publication Society is the oldest continuing organization of its kind in the world. Since its founding, it has published over 600 titles ranging from children’s fiction to two English translations of the Bible.

Reelected vice-presidents were David C. Melnicoff, of Philadelphia, vice-president of the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia; Leo Gusik and Maxwell M. Rabb, both of New York City: Philip D. Sang, of Chicago; and Jerome J. Shestack, of Philadelphia. William Fishman, of Philadelphia, was renamed treasurer; Dr, Paul Sloane, secretary; Dr. Chaim Potok, editor; and Lesser Zussman, executive director.

Dr. Arthur Hertzberg, spiritual leader of Temple Emanu-El, of Englewood, N.J., received the Jewish Publication Society’s Adolf Amram Award for 1967, an annual citation carrying with it a prize of $4,000. The award was given to him at the JPS annual meeting for his manuscript of a book, “The French Enlightenment and the Jews,” to be published jointly by the JPS and the Columbia University Press next November.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund