Menu JTA Search

Annual Magnes Scholarships at Hebrew U Awarded to Two Israeli Arabs

The 13th annual Judah L. Magnes Scholarships at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem have been awarded to two Israeli Arabs–Yonas Abu-Rabiya, 21, of the Abu Rabiya Bedouin tribe and Habib-Allah Mouhamad, 31, of Ein Mahel, a village near Nazareth. The awards were announced today by James Marshall, president of the Magnes Foundation. The scholarships are given each year to Arab or Druze students for outstanding scholastic achievement. They are named for the late Dr. Judah L. Magnes, the Hebrew University’s first president, who served from 1925 until his death in 1948. Dr. Magnes was a proponent of education as a basis for understanding and amity between Jews and Arabs and advocated a bi-national state comprising both elements.