Dr. Sabin Elected President of Weizmann Institute, Succeeding Meyer Weisgal
Menu JTA Search

Dr. Sabin Elected President of Weizmann Institute, Succeeding Meyer Weisgal

Download PDF for this date

The Weizmann Institute of Science has elected Dr. Albert B. Sabin, a research professor at Cincinnati University who developed the oral vaccine against polio, as its next president. Dr. Sabin accepted the post when he was informed of his election via overseas telephone. He will succeed Meyer Weisgal who is approaching the retirement age of 75. Dr. Sabin is expected to take office toward the end of this year. Dr. Sabin 62, was born in Bialystok, Russia, and came to the United States as a child in 1921. He received his medical degree from New York University in 1931.

In another development, the Weizmann Institute conferred an honorary fellowship yesterday on Dr. Abraham L. Sachar, chancellor and former president of Brandeis University in Waltham, Mass. The ceremonies, held at a special meeting of the Institute’s board of governors, were addressed by Dr. Sachar, United States Ambassador Walworth Barbour; Dewey Stone, chairman of the board of governors, and Mr. Weisgal. The board approved the appointment of Prof. Gerhard Schmidt, head of the chemistry department, as the new director of the Institute. The Institute was named after the late Dr. Chaim Weizmann, a scientist and leader of the World Zionist movement who served as Israel’s first President. It is considered to be one of the world’s largest scientific institutions and has done considerable nuclear research.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund