William M.landau Elected JTA President; Succeeds Robert H. Arnow
Menu JTA Search

William M.landau Elected JTA President; Succeeds Robert H. Arnow

Download PDF for this date

Raymond Epstein, vice-president and chairman of the nominating committee of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency, announced today that William M. Landau has been elected president of the JTA and will take office April 1. Landau, 47, succeeds Robert II. Arnow who has been president since April, 1967. The announcement by Epstein came at the annual meeting of the board of directors of the world-wide agency that gathers and distributes news and information concerning the Jewish people the world over.

Landau, a graduate of Lehigh University and New York Law School, is managing partner of Fred Landau & Co., a U.S. national accounting firm. He is a partner in Jenks Landau & Co.,an international accounting firm with offices abroad including Great Britain, Canada, Australia and South Africa. He is a member of the New York State Bar Association and a Certified Public Accountant in New York, California and Chicago.

A New York resident, Landau is a member of the Board of the United Jewish Appeal and a member of its Campaign. Cabinet. He is associate chairman of the UJA’s Accountants Division and a member of the board of the New York Association for New Americans. Landau is also a member of the board and was a vice-president of the JTA prior to his election to its presidency. He is a member of the board of trustees of a Westchester synagogue and a member of the board of trustees of the Young Men’s Division of the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.

Other officers elected were: Robert H. Arnow, chairman of the board; Raymond Epstein of Chicago, Jerold C. Hoffberger of Baltimore, and Philip Slomovitz of Detroit, vice-presidents; Julius Berman of New York, secretary, and Abe Goodman of New York, treasurer.

Current directors of the JTA board who were reelected were: Victor M. Carter, Los Angeles; Gottlieb Hammer, N.Y.; Irving Isaacs, Pittsburgh; Morris Levinson, N.Y.; Morris Rodman, Washington, D.C.; Hyman Safran, Detroit; Joseph D. Shane, Los Angeles; and Stephen L. Stulman, N.Y. New board members are: Melvin Swig, San Francisco; Bennett. Aaron, Philadelphia; Marshall Weinberg, N.Y.; and Donald Carr, Toronto. Moshe Rivlin, director general of the Jewish Agency in Israel, and Nessim Gaon of Switzerland were elected as directors.


Rabbi Edward T. Sandrow presented Arnow with a scroll by the JTA board of directors with the inscription: “To Robert H. Arnow who served as president of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency with distinction, with dedication and thereby made an outstanding contribution to the cause of Jewish advancement and learning.” Below the inscription was another one in Hebrew stating: “May you live to 120 and continue your fruitful labors in behalf of our people.”

The board of directors also took cognizance of the long and devoted service of Eleazar Lipsky board chairman, and appointed him as a Director for Life and to be listed on the roster as “Past President and Director for Life.”

As president of the JTA, Landau will be the top lay officer of a news service operating in more than 50 countries and transmitting more than 10,000 words of news each day. The JTA serves 65 newspapers in the U.S. and Canada and scores more around the world.

It provides direct service to Jewish communities, central organizations, the Jewish leadership and Jewish institutions through daily news bulletins published in the United States, England, France, South Africa, Argentina and Peru. JTA distributes its news to the Israeli press and radio through ITIM, the Israeli newspaper cooperative.

In addition to the JTA Daily News Bulletin issued in New York, JTA publishes the JTA Weekly News Digest, a weekly review of the major developments of the week and the JTA Community News Reporter, a weekly report on activities in the Jewish community, and a weekly feature service to the American-Jewish press and the Jewish press abroad.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund