Emil Von Behring Prize Awarded to Weizmann Institute Professor
Menu JTA Search

Emil Von Behring Prize Awarded to Weizmann Institute Professor

The Emil von Behring Prize, named after the first man to receive the Nobel Prize in Medicine and Physiology, was awarded to Prof. Michael Sela, Dean of the Weizmann Institute’s Biology Faculty and head of its Chemical Immunology Department, in a ceremony last Friday at the Philipps University of Marburg, in the Federal German Republic.

Given every two years by the Philipps University for outstanding achievements in medicine and science, with special emphasis on immunology, it was presented to Prof.Sela for his “basic immunochemical studies on the molecular structure of antigens and the immune response, which have given a new impetus to the development of synthetic antigens and permitted a better understanding of the genetic basis of antibody formation.”

Prof. Sela, who holds the W. Garfield Weston Chair in Immunology at the Weizmann Institute, has also been the recipient of the Israel Prize, the Rothschild Prize, and the Otto Warburg Medal of the German Biochemical Society.

SPONSORED: Take action. Take control. Get screened to protect the health of your future family. Request your kit at JScreen.org!