22 Named by 7 National Jewish Groups to Enlarged Committee on Controls and Authorization
Menu JTA Search

22 Named by 7 National Jewish Groups to Enlarged Committee on Controls and Authorization

Download PDF for this date

An enlarged and strengthened 22 member National Committee on Control and Authorization of Campaigns of the Jewish Agency has been constituted by the leadership of seven American Jewish organizations concerned with the major fund-raising activities in this country in behalf of Israel and the relief of needy Jews throughout the world.

Under the co-chairmanship of Mrs. Charlotte Jacobson, chairman of the American Section of the World Zionist Organization, and Jack D. Weiler, a national chairman of the United Jewish Appeal, the committee which was first created in 1950, is devoted to the maintenance of the primacy of the annual United Jewish Appeal campaign and its cooperating local welfare fund and federation campaigns throughout the country.

The seven participating organizations on the national committee are the World Zionist Organization, American Section; the Jewish Agency for Israel, the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds, the United Jewish Appeal, the United Israel Appeal, the United Jewish Appeal of Greater New York and the Joint Distribution Committee.


Along with the announcement of the membership of the national committee, Mrs. Jacobson and Weiler, explained that “the strengthening and enlargement of the National Committee on Control and Authorization of Campaigns was an urgent necessity in the light of the continuous mass flow of Jewish immigrants to Israel, requiring unprecedented amounts of free dollars for the programs of the Jewish Agency for Israel, which are highlighted by the challenge inherent in the achievement of the successful absorption of Russian and other immigrants to Israel, now and in the future.”

The enlarged and strengthened national committee in the U.S., the co-chairmen continued, “is necessary to maximize the support of the American-Jewish community for the UJA. The primacy and priority of the UJA must be reaffirmed in every way. It must not be eroded by a proliferation of appeals by Israeli institutions coming to the U.S. for support, which divert funds and manpower from Israel’s most critical needs.

The committee, Mrs. Jacobson and Weiler stated, “will work with the newly constituted committee in Israel, the World Committee of the Israel Emergency Fund, which will be a coordinating committee for fund-raising composed of representatives of the government of Israel and the Jewish Agency for Israel.”

The representatives of the Israel government on this committee are Ministers Pinhas Sapir, Yigal Allon, Yosef Burg, Victor Shemtov, Moshe Kol and Y.S. Shapira. Members of the Jewish Agency Executive on the committee are Acting Chairman Leon Dulzin, Ezra Shapiro. Raanan Weitz, Rabbi Mordecai Kirshblum and Joseph Klarman.

“This will give added strength to the National Committee on Control and Authorization, will help minimize the harmful results to the UJA of multiple campaigns, will discourage unauthorized fund-raising efforts in behalf of Israeli institutions in the U.S. and thus make possible more effective UJA efforts that will result in additional funds being raised by the UJA, and its cooperating local federations and welfare fund campaigns, to meet pressing emergency needs of Israel,” Mrs. Jacobson and Weiler stated.


The members of the national committee, in addition to its co-chairmen are:

Albert Adelman, National Chairman, National UJA; Irving Bernstein Executive Vice-Chairman, National UJA; Philip Bernstein, Executive Vice-President, CJF; Melvin Dubinsky, Chairman, UJA; Raymond Epstein, President, CJF; Max M. Fisher, Chairman, Board of Governors, Jewish Agency for Israel; Harold Friedman, Chairman, Overseas Committee, CJF; Edward Ginsburg, Chairman. JDC; Bram Goldsmith, Chairman of the Task Force on Multiple Appeals, CJF; Monroe Goldwater, Honorary President, UJA of Greater N.Y.

Other members are: Samuel Haber, Executive Vice-chairman, JDC; Gottlieb Hammer, Executive Vice-Chairman, UJA; Ernest Michel, Executive Vice-Chairman, UJA of Greater N.Y.; Rabbi Emanuel Rackman, member of the Executive, American Section, WZO; Daniel Rosenberg, Assistant Director, CJF; Mrs. Elaine Siris, National Chairman, Women’s Division, UJA; Herbert Tenzer, Campaign Chairman, UJA of Greater N.Y.; Jacques Torczyner, member of the Executive, American Section, WZO; and Paul Zuckerman, General Chairman, National UJA. Isadore Hamlin, Executive Director of the American Section, WZO, continues to serve as the national committee’s coordinator.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund