Landau Announces Elections of Members to the JTA Board
Menu JTA Search

Landau Announces Elections of Members to the JTA Board

Download PDF for this date

William M. Landau, who was re-elected president of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency announced the election of five new board members. They are Charles Bick of New York, William L. Frost of New York, Philip Granovsky of Toronto, Leonard Kesten of New York and Mrs. Annette Shapiro of Beverly Hills. Calif.

In addition, Landau announced the re-election of Robert H. Arnow as chairman of the board, and Raymond Epstein, Martin S. Fox and Philip Slomovits as vice-presidents. Also re-elected were Julius Berman, secretary, and Abraham Goodman, treasurer. Melvin Swig, a member of the board, was elected vice-president.


Bick, who studied at Rabbi Isaac Eichanan Theological Seminary, joined the Zionist movement in 1932 as a member of Hapoel Hamizrachi. He served as the movement’s national president from 1951 to 1952 and is currently a member of the national board of Mizrachi Hapoel Hamizrachi. He is a national board member of the American Zionist Federation and honorary vice-president of the Jewish National Fund. He is a certified public accountant.

Frost, a graduate of Harvard College, Yale Law School and Harvard Graduate School of Public Administration, was a foreign service officer with the Department of State from 1952 to 1959 in various European countries. An attorney in New York since 1959, he is an officer of numerous legal and civic organizations, including chairman of the library committee program for the Harvard Center for Jewish Studies.

Granovsky, a business executive, is national president of the United Israel Appeal of Canada, member of the board of the Jewish Agency, chairman of Campaign Services Committee of the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds, a vice-president of the JNF of Canada and vice-president of the Toronto Jewish Congress.

Kesten is chairman of the United Jewish Appeal-Federation of Jewish Philanthropies in northern Westchester, member of the campaign’s cabinet, UJA Missions chairman, and was New York project chairman for the UJA national “This Year in Jerusalem” conference.

During her many years of what she describes as “my career of volunteerism,” Mrs. Shapiro has served on numerous committees within the Jewish Federation-Council of Greater Los Angeles, including chairman of the Women’s Division of the United Jewish Welfare Fund-Israel Emergency Fund Campaign in 1974 and 1975; chairman of the Fund campaign in the San Fernando Valley in 1970 and 1971; chairman of the Jewish Federation Bicentennial Commemoration in 1976; and coordinated several art exhibits for Adat Ari El.


The elections were held at the last meeting of the JTA board of directors in Jerusalem. In making the official announcement of the elections, Landau said in New York: “The variety of business acumen, insights, commitments and deep-going involvements in the life of the Jewish community which characterize the board members is further evidence and assurance that the JTA functions world-wide as the ‘eyes and ears of the Jewish people.'”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund