Solons Named to Holocaust Commission; Will Plan Program
Menu JTA Search

Solons Named to Holocaust Commission; Will Plan Program

Download PDF for this date

House Speaker Thomas O’Neill (D. Mass.) has named four Democrats and a Republican to the Holocaust Commission that will arrange a program and a memorial in remembrance of the victims of the Holacaust. O’Neill last Friday forwarded the names of the five to President Carter for formal notification of their appointments.

To be named are Representatives Sidney Yates (D. III.), dean of the Jewish members of the House; William Lehman (D. Fla.), Stephen Solarz (D. N.Y.), Jim Blanchard (D. Mich.), and William Green (R. N.Y.). Yates, Lehman, Solarz and Green were among the 23 Jewish Americans who were elected to the House in the elections Nov. 7. That is one more than the previous record of 22 Jewish Congressmen elected two years ago.

Vice President Walter Mondale is to select five Senators to the Commission, which consists of 24 Americans. Author Elie Wiesel is chairman. The Commission, which will be supported by 27 scholars and community leaders also named by the President, will plan the program for remembrance next April 27-28 and recommend a memorial.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund