Fox Reelected; 5 Join JTA Board
Menu JTA Search

Fox Reelected; 5 Join JTA Board

Download PDF for this date

Martin 5. Fox, who was re-elected president of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency, announced the election of five new members to the JTA Board of Directors. The five are: Sylvia Hassenfeld, Providence, R.I. Greville Janner, Q.C., MP, London, England; Arthur J. Levine, New York; Neil Norry, Rochester, N.Y.; and Hy Vile, Kansas City.

In addition, Fox announced the re-election of William M. Landau as chairman of the Board; Robert H. Arrow as chairman of the Executive Committee, and Raymond P. Epstein, Philip Slomovitz, Melvin Swig and Marshall Weinberg as Vice President. Also re-elected were Julius Berman, Secretary and Abraham Goodman, Treasurer.

Mrs. Hassenfeld is a National Vice Chairman of the United Jewish Appeal and past president of its national women’s division. She is a member of the Board of Governors of the Jewish Agency and a member of the Executive Committees of the Joint Distribution Committee and United Israel Appeal. In addition to her national and international leadership roles, Mrs. Hassenfeld is a Director of the Rhode Island Jewish Federation, honorary president of its women’s division, and an outstanding civic, cultural and philanthropic leader in her home community of Providence.

Janner is a Labor Member of Parliament for Leicester West since 1970 and President of the Board of Deputies of British Jews. He is founder and vice chairman of the All-Party Parliamentary Committee for Release of Soviet Jewry, member of the European Executive of the World Jewish Congress and author of 26 books.

Levine is a Certified Public Accountant with offices in New York City. He is an honorary President of the United Synagogue of America and a member of the Board of Governors of the Jewish Agency. He also represents the Conservative movement on the WZO Executive, and is a member of the Executive of the Synagogue Council of America and of the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations.

Norry is a national vice chairman of the United Jewish Appeal and chairman of the National Jewish Resource Center. He is a Board member of the Joint Distribution Committee and the American Association for Jewish Education. A graduate of Columbia University, he serves as president of the Norry Company and chairman of the Board of the Ajax Electric Company. In his home city of Rochester, he is vice president of the Jewish Community Federation and president of Hillel Day School and Hillel Foundation of University of Rochester.

Vile is one of Kansas City’s leading Jewish communal leaders and chairman of the Board of Vile Goller/Fine Arts and Lithographing Co. He has been honored by many civic and Jewish communal organizations, such as the Jewish Theological Seminary, Israel Bonds and others. He is a past president of Beth Shalom Congregation, the Jewish Geriatric Center and the Printing Industry Trade Association in Kansas City.

In making the official announcement of the elections which were held at the JTA Board of Directors meeting in New York June 10, Fox stated that the five new members are all deeply involved in communal affairs and their insights and expertise, will further enhance the world-wide functions of JTA as the “eyes and ears of the Jewish people.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund