Democrats Elect Pro-israel Leadership
Menu JTA Search

Democrats Elect Pro-israel Leadership

Download PDF for this date

Democrats in the House of Representatives on Wednesday elected Rep. Richard Gephardt (D-Mo.) as their new majority leader and Rep. William Gray III (D-Pa.) as their new majority whip.

Both candidates had been favored by Jewish groups over their competitors, whom they deemed as having weaker records of support for Israel.

House Democrats are scheduled to vote June 21 for a new caucus chairman to replace Gray.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund