Weed out the pot for Passover
Menu JTA Search

Weed out the pot for Passover

Marijuana may not be kosher for Passover, an Israeli group said. The Jerusalem Post reported Wednesday that Aleh Yarok, or the Green Leaf Party, sent a message to followers warning them that marijuana, made from hemp, could be considered kitniyot and therefore forbidden to Ashkenazim on the holiday. Kitniyot is a custom adopted by Ashkenazim that extends the Passover food ban to legumes, but Sephardim do consume kitniyot over the holiday.”We are
considering announcing a ban on everything containing hemp just to be
on the safe side,” party spokeswoman Michelle Levine told the Post. “We are going with the rabbis on this. People should
remove all cannabis and hemp from their homes.”