Menu JTA Search

Israel Prizes to be awarded

The Israel Prizes will be awarded in a ceremony Tuesday night. This year’s winners include the folk group Givatron, economist Dov Lautman, scholar and feminist Alice Shalvi and The American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee-Israel, all for lifetime achievement; Yediot Achronot’s Nachum Barnea, for journalism; Ada Karmi-Melamede, for architecture; Zvi Hashin, for engineering research; Ben Gurion University’s Responsa Project, for Torah literature; Shalom Schwartz, for psychology; Elisha Efrat, for geography; Zvi Selinger, for biology; Yarom Vardimon, for design; Ya’akov Ya’ar, for architecture; and Amnon Cohen, for knowledge of Israel.The prize, awarded annually on Independence Day, recognizes excellence in culture, academics or service to the state.