Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Theological Seminary Seeks $500,000

February 14, 1923
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

A nation-wide drive for $500,000 to support the United Synagogue and the Jewish Theological Seminary was started at the second day’s session of the United Synagogue convention here at the Fort Pitt Hotel. Delegates present pledged to give $25,000.

The United Synagogue of America went on record as supporting the proposal for a World Jewish Congress to aid in the upbuilding of Palestine.

Dr. Elias L. Soloman of New York was re-elected President, and the following new members were named on the Executive Committee: Maurice L. Avner, Pittsburgh; Abraham Cohn, Scranton; Joseph Boch, New York; Henry Cross, Newark; William Praeger, New York; and Ignatz Schwartz, Youngstown, O.

A resolution forbidding members of the Jewish Theological Seminary in seeking pulpits to further their own candidacy until other candidates are considered by the Placements Committee was passed at the mid-winter conference of the Rabbinnical Assembly today at the Tree of Life Synagogue. This marks the conclusion of the United Synagogue and Womens League conventions.

Dr. Jacob Kohn of New York is the Vice-President of the United Synagogues. The Treasurer is William Praeger, and Herbert Golden Recording Secretary.

The Rabbinnical Assembly decided to join in the campaign for $500,000 in support of United Synagogue, Rabbinical Assembly and Theological Seminary.

Recommended from JTA