Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

I.o.b.a. Elects Judge Levy for Another Term

June 6, 1923
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The 37th annual convention of the Independent Order Brith Abraham, characterized by Judge Aaron J. Levy, the re-elected Grandmaster, as the “most orderly and dignified ever held” by the I.O.B.A., adjourned today amidst repeated mutual assurances of “loyalty, amity and harmony,” after a three-day session beginning Sunday, 911 Delegates representing 503 lodges having been reported by the Credentials Committee.

Both Convention Hall and the city of Saratoga in general presented a festive appearance in honor of the Convention. The opening sessions were addressed by Governor Alfred E. Smith, Lieutenant-Governor George R. Lunn and Acting Mayor Sherman of Saratoga.

Resolutions were adopted for continued participation in the work of the American Jewish Congress, support of the Keren Hayesed, as well as of organizations having the endorsement of the Zionist Organization of America and which have for their task the purchase of lands in Palestine. It was decided to issue appeals to the lodges and individual members on behalf of the Ort, and for the stranded Jewish refugees from the Ukraine, whose cause was espoused by the Federation of Ukrainian Jews. With regard to the work of the Order in the amelioration of the lot of the immigrant Jew to this country, a resolution was carried, providing for the appointment of committees of ten in every port of entry to the United States, as well as committees of three in other towns having a Jewish population, out of whose midsts shall be elected an Executive of 15, the Chairman to sit as an exofficio member of the Executive of the Order.

Rumors of opposition to the re-election of Judge Levy, on constitutional grounds, were set to nought by a resolution introduced by Judge Gustave Hartman, providing for enforcement of the law of the two year tenure of office by Grand Lodge officials, excepting the office of Grandmsster which is to be exempted this year from the ruling because of the present Grandmaster’s frdlspansableness to the Order. Amended by Congressman Nathan D. Perlman to include the office of First Deputy Grandmaster, the proposal was adopted.

The officers elected are: Judge Aaron J. Levy, Grandmaster; Max L. Hollander, Grand Secretary; Max Wolf, Grand Treasursr; Adolph Stern, First Deputy Grandmaster; Samuel Kalesky of Boston, Second Deputy Grandmaster; William Wahlberg, Philadelphia, Third Deputy Grandmaster; Abraham Stiglitz, Newark, Fourth Deputy Grandmaster; Dr. George Sultan, Chicago, Fifth Deputy Grandmaster; Harry Gipstain, Hartford, Sixth Deputy Grandmaster; Otto Hirsch, St. Louis, Seysnth Deputy Grandmaster; Harry Roberts; Baltimore, Eighth Deputy Grandmaster; Jacob Zuckerman, Cleveland, Ninth Deputy Grandmaster; Samuel Brown, Providence, Tenth Deputy Grandmaster; William Rader, Brooklyn, Eleventh Deputy Grandmaster; Samuel Cohen, Bronx, Twelfth Deputy Grandmaster; Max Green, Grand Trustee; Adolph Jablinowski, Chairman of Finance; Moritz Graubard, Chairman of Endowment; Louis Gottlieb, Endowment Treasurer; Judge Jacob Asher, Chairman of Law; Benjamin Steinman, Chairman of Appeals; Charles Altenberg, Chairman State of Order; Samuel Gold stein, Chairman of Printing; William Bluestein, Bostonk Chairman on Rituals; Adolph Rosenbaum, Chairman of Relief; Nathan Birnbaum, Chairman of Supplies; Louis Slutzky, Chairman of Disability; Jacob M. Steinberg, Treasurer of Disability; Louis B. Siegel, Chairman of Intellectual Advancement; Congressman Nathan D. Perlman, Chairman of Jewish Rights; Isider Scherer, Counsel to the Order. Judge Gustave Hartman was elected a member of the Executive Board upon motion to make the Junior Past Grandmaster a member of the Executive. Saratoga Springs was chosen as the place of the next convention.

Recommended from JTA