Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Bijur, Proskauer, Levy and Hartman Named for Supreme Bench

October 3, 1923
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Justice Nathan Bijur and Judge Gustave Hartman were among those nominated for places on the Supreme Bench of New York by the Republican State committee. In all there are ten places to be filled.

The Democrats also named Justice Bijur and in addition named Aaron J. Levy and Justice Joseph M. Proskauer.

Both Bijur and Proskauer are present members of the Supreme Court. Aaron J. Levy is President Justice of the Municipal Court and Judge Hartman is on the City Court bench.

Acting Mayor Murray Halbert has also announced today the appointment of Isaac Cohen as a Justice of the Municipal Court in the Ninth Manhattan district succeeding Frank J. Coleman, resigned. The term expires in 1927.

Recommended from JTA