Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

214 Students at Jewish Theological Seminary Opening

October 11, 1923
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The new academic year of the Jewish Theological Seminary was formally opened Wednesday with a record number of students enrolled. At the Seminary proper 214 students were registered and 197 at the Teachers’ Institute, allied with the Seminary.

Dr. Cyrus Adler announced that Dr. Jacob Hoschander has been appointed to take the place of Professor Friedlaender, who was killed in the Ukraine in 1920. Other members of the faculty are Prof. Ginsburg, Dr. Louis Finkelstein, Dr. Morris D. Levine, Prof. Alexander Marx, and Dr. Israel Davidson.

Prof. M.Kaplan will be principal of the Institute as heretofore, assisted by Dr. Levine, Joseph Bragin, Leo L. Honor, Levi Schaffstein, Hillel Bavil, Benjamin Sil, Rabbi Kadushin and Oscar Obsay.

Students who desire to prepare themselves for leadership of Young Men’s Hebrew Associations and similar institutions are also being received by the Extension Department.

Recommended from JTA