Sons of Zion Hold Convention
Menu JTA Search

Sons of Zion Hold Convention

The convention of the Order of the Sons of Zion closed here this evening, after adopting a number of resolutions. Among them were resolutions to start a drive for members to endorse the work of Young Judea, to create a Jewish conservatory in Palestine in memory of the fallen Jewish soldiers there, to support the campaign of the Jewish workers for a Palestine workers’ bank, to tax every member of the Order five cents per annum for the American Jewish Congress, to undertake a quota of fifty thousand dollars for the National Fund for 1924, to help Ussischkin when he comes here to make a drive for the National Fund, to elect delegates to the Zionist Convention in Pittsburg, and to use their influence to bring about the opening of a branch of the Jewish Colonial Trust in New York.

The following officers were elected: Nathan Chasan, Nasi, Sol. Fried land and Louis Hochberg, Vice-Presidents, Max Fenwick, Treasurer, Jacob Ish Kishor, Secretary, Dr. Solomon Newman, Chief Medical Examiner, S. Weinstein. Councellor. The following seventeen were elected members of the Executive: David Podolsky, H. J. Abramson, Max Luria, Louis Rinsky, Rev. N. Abramson, Meyer Herbst, J. Mechania, all of New York; M. Litwin, B. Find, A. N. Alterman, H. Milgram, Rev. Hein, all of Brooklyn; Louis Sosin, Perty Amboy, S. W. Flax, Cambridge, Charles Sobel, Newark, S. Finestone, Norfolk, I. Wolf, Bronx.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund