Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

News Brief

October 28, 1924
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Grand Duchess Cyril, who will arrive in this country soon, will be the guest of the Monday Opera Supper Club, which was founded a year ago to meet at Sherry’s every Monday after the opera. The Monday Opera Supper Club has the distinction of being the only American club under the patronage of Russian grand dukes. Grand Duke and Grand Duchess Cyril of Russia. Grand Duchess Xenia, Grand Duke Michael Prince and Princess Andrew, the Princess Cantacuzene-Speransky, are among the patrons of this club, which keeps itself free of Jewish members.

On the Advisory Committee of the club are Mrs. Henry P. Loomis. Mrs. Richard Mortimer, Mrs. Henry H. Rogers and Mrs. Cornelius Vanderbilt. Ethan Allen is Treasurer of the club and George Djamgaroff, Secretary. The membership committee comprises Mrs. Cornelius N. Bliss, Jr., Mrs. William Burden, Mrs. David Dows. Mrs. Frank Gray Griswold. Mrs. Oliver Gould Jennings, Mrs. W.K. Vanderbilt, 2d, Mrs. John Sloan, Mrs. Joseph E. Widener, Mrs. A. Hamilton Rice, Mrs. George B. St. George. Mrs. Lewis Gouverneur Morris, Mrs. James B. Duke, Mrs. Ogden H. Hammond, Mrs. Kenneth O’Brien and Mrs. Henry Walters.

Members of the club are Mrs. W. B. Leeds, Mrs. J. C. Baldwin, Jr., Mrs. George Gordon Battle, Mrs. A. C. Bossom, Mlle. T. W. Bouimistrow, Mrs. Charles H. Boynton, Mrs. R. J. Caldwell, Mrs. H. P. Davison, Miss Fanny Evans, Mrs. Snowden A. Fahnestock. Baroness A. L. Frederiecksz, Mrs. Horace Gailatin, Mrs. Charles Dana Gibson. Mrs. J. T. Harahan, Mrs. Cosmo Hamilton, Mrs. G. Borden Harriman, Mrs. James Lees Laidlaw, Mrs. Robert Lansing, Mrs. Henry Goddard Leach, Mrs. Samuel A. Lewisohn, Mme. Nona de Mohrenshildt, Miss Helen Moran, Mrs. Ira Nelson Morris, Mrs. William P. T. Preston. Mrs. Edith Rockhill, Mrs. P. A. Routsky, Mrs. H. P. Russel, Mrs. John Sanford, Mrs. H. Schniewind, Miss Margaret Sharp. Mrs. Arthur Stein, Mrs. Norman Whitehouse, Mr. and Mrs. Reginald T. Townsend, Miss Eva Dahlgren, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Hollister Pease, Miss Symphorosa Bristed, Mrs. V. Loney Gambrill, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph C. Baldwin, 3d, Miss Marion Choar, Col Philip M. Lydig, Misses Sylvia R. Hillhouse, Cornelia Livingston, Margaret Thaw and Cynthia Robinson, Mr. and Mrs. Reginald B. Lanier, Mrs. William de Rham, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Cohu and Messrs. Maurice Fatio, John S. Melcher, Jr., Philipse Robinson, Craig wadsworth, Leonard Cushing and R. Douglass Ewell.

Grand Duchess Cyril will be the guest of Mrs. Henry P. Loomis of Tuxedo Park, New York. Mrs. Robert Lansing of Washington will be among the hostesses who will welcome the Grand Duchess in Washington.

Recommended from JTA