Rabbinical Assembly Closes Its Sessions in Long Branch
Menu JTA Search

Rabbinical Assembly Closes Its Sessions in Long Branch

Download PDF for this date

(Jewish Daily Bulletin)

Rabbi Max Drob of New York was re-elected president of the Rabbinical Assembly of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America at the convention of the Assembly which closed here on Friday.

A resolution providing for the furtherance of religious training in Palestine was passed and it was decided to engage a field secretary. A resolution providing that “the Rabbinical Assembly take vigorous steps to disseminate the conception that regular devotion to study is a vital part of our religion and obligations, and to urge the organization of adult study circles among our people; and furthermore that we appoint a committee of five to prepare syllabi, guides, and similar matter to serve as content towards the propagation of this concept.” Another resolution provided “that in order to have better cooperation between the Rabbinical Assembly and the United Synagogue, the Rabbinical Assembly nominate an equal number of representatives to the following standing committees of the United Synagogue: Education: Religious Observance; College Students: Cooperation with Institutions of Higher Learning.”

Opposition to military training in the public schools was expressed by the convention in a resolution “strongly opposing the inculcation of the military ideal as the highest expression of love for country-specifically the compulsory military training in public educational institutions” and instructing the executive council to cooperate with other religious bodies entertaining like views on this question.

The other officers elected were vice-president, Louis Finkelstein, N. Y.; treasurer, Max Arzt, Scranton; recording secreary, Max Davidson, Asbury Park; and corresponding secretary, Abraham Burstein, N. Y. Additional members of the executive council are A. Basel, N. Y.; Murray Alstet, Miami; A. Coblentz, Baltimore; L. M. Epstein, Boston; Simon Greenberg, Philadelphia; H. Hailperin, Pittsburg; Prof. M. M. Kaplan, N. Y.; Jacob Kohn, N. Y.; J. Miller, Brooklyn; C. D. Matt, Minneapolis; Prof. M. D. Levine, N. Y.; L. M. Levitsky, Wilkesbarre; A. F. Landesman, Brooklyn; Jesse Schwartz Toronto; I. Signer, Bethlehem; S. Sachs, Portland, Oregon, and M. Silverman, Hartford.


Jewish women from Buffalo, Syracuse, Utica, Rochester and other cities in the state met at Temple Beth El, Rochester, for a conference of the state branch of the Women’s League of the United Synagogue of America, at which the strengthening of conservative Jewish observances in the homes was discussed.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund