Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Conference of United Jewish Campaign Opens in Chicago Tomorrow

October 8, 1926
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

(Jewish Daily Bulletin)

The national conference of the Joint Distribution Committee and the United Jewish Campaign will open here tomorrow night at the Standard Club. The conference will be in session all day Sunday. About a thousand delegates from all parts of the country are expected to attend.

One purpose of the conference is to take stock of what has already been accomplished toward raising the $25,000,000 of the United Jewish Campaign. Another purpose is to hear reports of what has been done in the way of alleviating the distress in Poland, Roumania. Galicia, Bessarabia, Hungary and other Eastern and Central European countries, and also the progress and prospects of the Jewish agricultural colonization work fostered in Russia by the Agro-Joint.

The delegates to the conference will hear a report on all countries outside of Russia from Dr. Bernhard Kahn, European director of the Joint Distribution Committee. They will hear reports on Russia from Dr. Joseph A. Rosen, head of the Agro-Joint and from Dr. A. E. Grower, its legal advisor who drafted the agreement with the Russian government giving the Agro-Joint complete autonomy.

They will hear reports from a number of American Jewish social workers who have visited the countries where relief work is being carried on, including Jacob Billikopf, executive director of the Philadelphia Federation of Jewish Charities; Dr. Maurice Hexter, executive director of the Boston Federation of Jewish Charities; Dr. Ludwig Bernstein, Executive Director of the Pittsburgh Federation of Jewish Charities; Mrs. Rebekah Kohut, honorary president of the Council of Jewish Women and Miss Irma May and Miss Hortense Breckler.

The conference will hear a report from Felix M. Warburg, detailing what the Joint Distribution Committee has already done and plans to do in the near future for the reconstruction of the life of East European Jewry; from James N. Rosenberg. vice-president of the Joint Distribution Committee, on his observations in Russia, and from David A. Brown, on the campaign. Mr. Louis Marshall is scheduled to deliver the keynote address.

The delegates will be entertained by a local committee of 250 headed by Mr. Julius Rosenwald.

Two special cars on the Twentieth Century Limited leaving New York today will convey the New York delegation to the Conference.

Included in the delegations from New York are William Fox, chairman; David M. Bressler, acting-chairman, and Jonah J. Goldstein, Herbert H. Lehman, Paul Baerwald, Harry Fischel, Alexander Kahn, Hon. Julian W. Mack, Rev. Dr. Nathan Krass, Herman Bernstein, Rev. Dr. Isaac Landman, Rev. Samuel Eisenberg, Bernard Edelherz, David N. Mosessohn, Herman Edelherz, Dr. Lee K. Frankel, Mrs. Jonah J. Goldstein, Capt, Frank Connes, Morris Engelman, B. C. Vladeck, Peter Wiernick, Meyer Gillis, S. C. Lamport, Jos. Schlossberg, Henry A. Dix, William Morris, Dr. Henry Moskowitz, Max Pine, B. Titman, Emil Zolla and Walter N. Rothschild.

The New York State delegation will be headed by Bernard B. Given, of Syracuse and Samuel Hessberg, Rabbi Marius Ransom and William Hessberg of Albany, Hon. Samuel J. Harris of Buffalo, Samuel Reichler of Utica and Louis. Silverberg of Niagara Falls.

The Ohio delegation includes the following from Cleveland: Eugene S. Halle, Mrs. S. Herzog, E. M. Baker, Samuel Goldhamer, and Solomon Ulmer from Cincinnati. Hirsch Manischewitz, Max Manischewitz, Dr. David Phillipson, Oscar Berman, Sidney J. Freiberg, Maurice J. Freiberg, Hon. Alfred M. Cohen, Dr. Boris D. Bogen and Samuel Ach. Youngstown will be represented by Julius Kahn and Rabbi I. E. Philo. Others from Ohio are Sam L. Segal of Chillicothe.

The Pennsylvania delegation will be headed by Albert H. Lieberman, chairman of the Eastern Zone and Albert C. Lehman, chairman of the Western Zone. The delegation from Philadelphia includes Dr. Cyrus Adler, Albert M. Greenfield, Lionel Friedmann, William Hirsch, Jules Mastbaum, Dr. I. M. Rubinow, Hon. Horace Stern and Morris Wolf from Pittsburg Irwin Lehman, A. Leo Weil, Rev. Dr. Samuel J. Goldenson, Hon. Marcus Aaron, Charles Dreifus, Alfred Oppenheimer, Oscar Oppenheimer, Marcus Rauh, Nathaniel Spear and A. J. Sunstein.

Chairman Fred M. Butzel will head the Michigan delegation which includes Bernard Ginsburg, Jacob Margolis, Milford Stern, Dr. Maurice D. Waldman, Milton M. Alexander and Harry Z. Brown of Detroit.

The Missouri delegation includes the State Chairman Edwin B. Meissner and Dr. A. Kaufman of St. Louis, E. S. Michelson, S. Harzfeld and B. M. Achtenberg of Kansas City.

The Illinois delegation, led by Arthur Lehmann of Peoria, includes Dr. Rudolph Farber of Waukegan, Maurice J. Kellner and B. A. Lange of Springfield. Benjamin M. Frankel of Champaign, D. S. Friedman of Peoria, Emanuel Rosenberg of Decatur, Charles Shanhouse of Rockford, Ben A. Stewart of Rock Island and M. N. Wien of Woodsteel.

The Chicago delegation is made up in part of the following: Julius Rosenwald, Max Adler, James H. Becker, L. Benenson, Louis E. Berlin. David Blum. Gen. Abel David, James Davis, Samuel Deutsch, M. E. Feiwell, Jos. Feuchtwanger, Hon. Harry M. Fisher, Solomon B. Freehof, M. Ph. Ginzburg, Samuel Ginsburg. Dr. Jos. Gollin. B. K. Goodman, Max M. Grossman, Leon Hannock, G. Hochstadter, William A. Hirsh, B. Horwich, Morris Joseph, L. M. Katz, Morris Katz, Jacob Kepecs, Sol. Kline, Morris Kurtzon, Victor Levenson, Dr. Gerson B. Levi, Jerome M. Levie, Dr. Felix A. Levy, Jacob M. Loeb, J. B. Loebner. Dr. Z. Lorber, Dr. Louis L. Mann, Elias Mayer, Mr. and Mrs. Jo. Mayer, H. L. Meites, A. W. Meyer, F. S. Pathman, Samuel S. Phillipson, Dr. H. M. Pomeranz, T. Regensteiner, John Rissman. S. J. Rosenblatt, Toby Rubovits, Aavon Sapiro. Louis Schafer, Dr. Tobias Schentarber, Philip L. Seman, Jacob Siegel, Sigmund Silberman, Morris Sisskind. Peter Sissman, I. Stemberg, Rabbi Jos. Stolz, Leo Straus, William Sultan, S. L. Suzberger, El kan C. Voorsanger, Harvey E. Wessel, John Wineberg and Leo F. Wormster.

On the Iowa delegation are Morris Mandelbaum, State Chairman and Rabbi Eugene Mannheimer both of Des Moines, Rabbi Isadore Isaacson, of Sioux City and E. P. Adler of Davenport.

Large delegations are expected from other states in most cases headed by their chairmen.

A complete telegraphic report of the proceedings of the conference will appear in the Tuesday morning issue of the “Jewish Daily Bulletin.” The conference will be covered for the “Jewish Daily Bulletin” and the Jewish Telegraphic Agency by the editor, William Z. Spiegelman.

Recommended from JTA