Council of Jewish Women Convention in Washington Nominates New Officers
Menu JTA Search

Council of Jewish Women Convention in Washington Nominates New Officers

Download PDF for this date

(Jewish Daily Bulletin)

Mrs. Joseph Friend of New Orleans, active in the work of the National Council of Jewish Women for the past 30 years, was nominated for national president at yesterday’s session of the Eleventh Triennial Convention of the organization here. As Mrs. Friend’s nomination was without opposition, her election is assured.

Other nominations for the National Officers, presented by Mrs. Irwin V. Barth, Chairman of the Committee on Nominations, included: Mrs. Alvin Bauman, St. Louis, First Vice-President; Mrs. Alexander Wolf, Washington, Second Vice-President; Mrs. Edwin Zugsmith, Pittsburgh, Third Vice-President; Mrs. David Greenwald, Milwaukee, Wis., Treasurer, and Mrs. I. Trager of Boston, Recording Secretary.

Nine persons were nominated for the Board of Directors, of whom five are to be elected. These were: Mrs. Ignace Reiss, Chicago; Mrs. Leon Stern, Terre Haute,; Ind. Mrs. Charles Long, Wilkesbarre, Pa.; Mrs. Maurice Goldman, Houston, Tex.; Mrs. George Goldsmith, Los Angeles; Mrs. James Ginns, Wilmington, Del.; Mrs. A. S. Kohler, Savannah, Ga.; Mrs. Leonard Schloss, Washington and Mrs. S. S. Gisman, Cincinnati.

Mrs. Bauman is now National Treasurer and Mrs. Wolf has been named to succeed herhelf as Second Vice-President. Mrs. Wolf is Charman of the Washington section.

Mrs. Friend, who will head the organization during the next triennial period, was National Treasurer twelve years ago and is one of the pioneer club women of New Orleans.

Renomination as National President was declined by Mrs. William D. Sporborg.

Dr. Elias L. Solomon of New York, honorary president of the United Synagogue of America, will deliver the dedicatory address of the new $350,000 synagogue of the Anshe Emes congregation in Chicago on Friday evening, Nov. 26. The dedication ceremonies will continue throughout the week. Philip A. Langh is rabbi of the congregation. The congregation was founded in 1873.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund