Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

To Appoint Rabbinical Advisory Committee

July 12, 1927
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

A committee of ten rabbis to advise Conservative rabbis on questions of Jewish law as they come up in their congregational activity will be appointed by Rabbi Max Drob, president of the Rabbinical Assembly, according to a decision taken at the last session of the Assembly held last week at the Clarendon Brunswick Hotel, Asbury Park, N. J.

The appointment of the committee was the outcome of the discussion which lasted several days during the convention, which took no other action on the matter.

Rabbi Max Drob was reelected president of the Rabbinical Assembly.

Other members of the new administration are Rabbi Louis Finkelstein, vice-president; Rabbi Elias Margolis, treasurer; Rabbi Israel Goldstein, recording secretary, and Rabbi Alter F. Landesman, corresponding secretary. To the executive committee were elected Rabbis Max Arzt, Max Davidson. Harry Davidowitz, Louis Epstein, Simon Greenberg, Julius Greenstone, Jacob Kohn, M. M. Kaplan, Morris Levine, Israel H. Levinthal, Louis Levitzky, Max Kadushin, Max D. Klein, Jacob Manken, Rubenowitz, Norman Salit, Reuben Weilerstein and Rabbi Roth.

Recommended from JTA