Hungary Recognizes Three Jewish Religious Groups
Menu JTA Search

Hungary Recognizes Three Jewish Religious Groups

Download PDF for this date

Jewish Telegraphic Agency

Three denominations of the Jewish religion. Orthodox. Neolog and the Reform, were officially recognized by the Hungarian government when the statutes of the Jewish religious communities were approved by the government this week.

The Jewish religion in Hungary is thus split into three distinet branches.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund