Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

American Communities’ Response to Relief Appeal Shown in List of Receipts

November 25, 1928
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Details of the progress of the collection of the pledges made by American Jews for the meeting of the budget of the Joint Distribution Committee were made public by the United Jewish Campaign headquarters in New York.

In many parts of the country, communities are making efforts to complete their collections ahead of schedule time. Many communities have already paid their obligations in full; others, the report states, are well on their way to that goal as, for example, Indiana and Oregon with 78% of the total pledges fully paid; New York City with 76%; Chicago 75%; the State of Louisiana 75%; Wheeling, West Virginia Zone, 75%. There are comparatively few communities behind in their payments, most of them being paid up according to schedule. But this, as has been pointed out, is not enough to meet the requirements.

“Only when every state in the country has collected every dollar subscribed will the Joint Distribution Committee be able to carry out the obligations that it has assumed in behalf of American Jewry,” the report declares.

Among the cities and states which have made payments ahead of schedule and those running according to schedule are:

Indiana, 78% paid up. State headquarters, Indianapolis; Louis J. Borinstein, chairman; J. J. Kiser, treasurer; Michael Bamberger, secretary.

Oregon, 78% paid up. State Headquarters, Portland; Ben Selling, chairman; Julius L. Meier, treasurer; Arthur M. Eppstein, secretary.

New York City, 761/3% paid up. David M. Bressler, acting chairman; Paul Baerwald, treasurer; Ben L. Simon, secretary.

Louisiana, 75% paid up. State headquarters, New Orleans; Rabbi Emil W. Leipziger, chairman; Silvan Newburger, treasurer; Dr. David Fichman, secretary; C. L. Merritt, assistant to treasurer.

Chicago, 75% paid up. Jacob M. Loeb, general chairman; Sol Kline and Samuel Deutsch, associate chairmen; Alfred K. Foreman, treasurer; William A. Hirsh, secretary.

Wheeling, West Virginia Zone, 75% paid up. Louis Horkheimer, chairman; Julius Horkheimer, treasurer.

Columbus, Ohio Zone, 711/3% paid up. Edward J. Goodman, chairman; E. J. Schanfarber, vice-chairman; Simon Lazarus, treasurer.

Province of Quebec (including Ottawa), 71% paid up. Provincial headquarters, Montreal; Dr. Herman Abramowitz, chairman; Charles L. Friedman and Robert Hirsch, associate treasurers.

Michigan (including Detroit), 701/3%. State Headquarters, Detroit; Fred M. Butzel, chairman; Bernard Ginsburg, treasurer; Esther R. Prussian, secretary.

Colorado – New Mexico – Wyoming, 683/4% paid up. Zone Headquarters, Denver; Morris Cohn, chairman; David E. Harlem, treasurer; Edward Miller, Secretary.

Alabama, 681/2% paid up. State Headquarters, Birmingham; M. H. Sterne, chairman; Leo K. Steiner, treasurer; Miss Margaret Alexander, assistant to treasurer.

Missouri, 673/4% paid up. State Headquarters, St. Louis; Edwin. B. Meissner, chairman; Aaron Waldheim, treasurer; Ferdinand S. Bach, secretary.

Wisconsin, 673/4% paid up. State Headquarters, Milwaukee; A. L. Saltzstein, chairman; Oscar Greenwald, treasurer; Dr. Benjamin Glassberg, secretary.

Washington and Alaska, 662/3% paid up. State Headquarters, Seattle; A. Shemanski, chairman; L. S. Schwabacher, treasurer; Abe Spring, secretary.

Texas, 66% paid up. State Headquarters, Dallas; Herbert Marcus, chairman; J. K. Hexter, treasurer.

Cincinnati, Ohio Zone, 66% paid up. Samuel Ach, chairman; Hon. Alfred M. Cohen, treasurer; Kurt Peiser, secretary.

California, 653/4% paid up. Col. Irving H. Hellman, Los Angeles, chairman; Max Sommer, San Francisco, treasurer; I. Irving Lipsitch, Los Angeles, secretary.

Kentucky, 65% paid up. State Headquarters, Wilmington; David N. Snellenburg, chairman; Max Keil, treasurer; Rabbi L. A. Mischkind, secretary.

North Carolina, 65% paid up. State Headquarters, Greensboro; M. E. Block, chairman; Bernard W. Cone, treasurer.

Western Pennsylvania Zone (including Pittsburgh), 64% paid up. Zone Headquarters, Pittsburgh; Albert C. Lehman, chairman; Aaron Cohen, treasurer; A. Cass Sunstein, assistant treasurer; Paul D. Murrin, assistant treasurer.

Minnesota, 631/2% paid up. Joseph H. Schanfeld, Minneapolis, chairman; Ralph N. Cardozo, St. Paul, vice-chairman; Charles Sipkins, Minneapolis, secretary.

Kansas, 63% paid up. B. B. Woolfe, Leavenworth, chairman; Henry Wallenstein, Wichita, treasurer; Morris Abeles, Leavenworth, secretary.

Tennessee, 62% paid up. State Headquarters, Chattanooga; Harry Wise, Sr., chairman; W. A. Sadd, treasurer.

Arkansas, 61% paid up. State Headquarters, Little Rock; I. Safferstone, chairman; M. L. Altheimer, Treasurer.

New Jersey, 601/2% paid up. State Headquarters, Newark; Felix Fuld, chairman; A. J. Dimond, treasurer.

Cleveland, Ohio Zone, 601/3% paid up. John Anisfield, chairman; E. S. Halle, treasurer; S. Goldhamer, secretary.

New York State (excluding New York City), 60% paid up. State Headquarters, Syracuse; Bernard B. Given, chairman; Jonas L. Oberdorfer, treasurer.

Georgia, 583/4% paid up. State Headquarters, Atlanta; Harold Hirsch, chairman; Leonard Haas, treasurer.

Illinois (excluding Chicago), 58% paid up. State Headquarters, Peoria; Arthur Lehmann, chairman; Albert C. Salzens in, treasurer.

District of Columbia, 58% paid up. Headquarters, Washington; Rudolph B. Behrend, chairman; Gerson Nordlinger, treasurer. (Washington campaign was held less than two years ago).

Arizona, 57% paid up. State Headquarters, Phoenix; I. J. Lipsohn, chairman; Charles Korrick, treasurer.

Oklahoma, 553/4% paid up. State Headquarters, Oklahoma City; S. K. Bernstein, chairman; B. H. May, treasurer.

Connecticut, 55% paid up. Samuel J. Weil, New Haven, chairman; Abram Spelke, Stamford, associate chairman; Alexander Cahn, New Haven, treasurer.

Mississippi, 54% paid up. State Headquarters, Vicksburg; Rabbi Sol L. Kory, chairman; Ben H. Stein, treasurer; Sol Felner, secretary.

North Dakota, 503/4% paid up. David M. Naftalin, Fargo, chairman; Alexander Stern, Fargo, treasurer; Isadore Papermaster, Grand Forks, secretary; Hugo Stern, Fargo, financial secretary.

Eastern Pennsylvania (including Philadelphia, where campaign was held less than two years ago), 501/2% paid up. Albert H. Lieberman, chairman; Morris Wolf, vice-chairman; Maurice L. Wurzel, treasurer; William Hirsch, secretary; Harry G. Sundheim, secretary; Mrs. Bella J. Friedlaender, secretary.

Recommended from JTA