Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Beth Israel Hospital Fund Reaches $2,100,000

May 21, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Contributions totaling $2,100,000 for the Beth Israel Hospital fund were presented to Paul Singer, recently elected president of the hospital at a testimonial dinner tendered him by the directors and friends of Beth Israel, Sunday night at the Hotel Commodore. More than 2,000 guests were present, Acting Governor Herbert H. Lehman. Mayor James J. Walker and David A. Brown were the speakers. Dr. Solomon Lowenstein, executive director of the Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropic Societies, presided.

The contributions received reduced the indebtedness of the hospital to $1,400,000.

Mayor Walker characterized the institution as one of the finest in the world representing the most advanced thought in hospitalization work. He praised the efforts of Mr. Singer and the board of directors and declared that without the philanthropic work done by the Jews of New York the city would be infinitely poorer.

A testimonial was addressed to Mr. Singer by the directors of the hospital.

It was announced that of the contributions presented last night $1,100,000 was given by the directors and $1,000,000 by the guests at the dinner.

A message of congratulation was received from President Hoover.

The contributions of the directors included $50,000 each from Abe N. Adelson, Julius and Isidore Blauner, Joseph Durst, H. Fischel (SS1,125). Max Goldstein. Bernard. K. Marcus. S. R. Rosoif, Reuben Sadowsky. Jacob Sperber and Saul Singer.

Meyer Veseil gave $30,000, Louis Adler $26,000; $25,000 each by the following. Max Aaronson, Samuel M. Bromberg. Abe Bricken. S. B. Cassidy. Joshua L. Cowen. Abraham Gevirtz. Isaac Gilman. Jacob Granowitz, Julius Schwartz. Beujamin Timan. Max Weinstein, Philip Weinstein and Morris White: I. Milken $20,000; $15,000 each from William W. Cohen. Joseph Ravitch, and Edward Rubin; $10,000 each from Morris Asfnof. Maurice Bandler, Jos. C. Brownstone, William Fischman. Aruold Gortlieb. Nathan Marcus, Mauriec Rentner. I. H. Rosentiral J. J. Schmuckler. Benjamin Shapiro and Araon Smith: $6,000 from Charies H. Silver: $5,000 each from Mortimer I. Davis. Samuel Kamlet Amold Herrmann. I. D. Karpas and S. C. Lampert: and $1,000 each from Otto A. Rosalsky and Joseph Zelenko.

Contributions from guests included $50,000 from Frederick Brown, $25,000 each from Mr. and Mrs. W. Fox S. H. Golding, Ralph Jonas. Mertimer L. Schiff, and Aliman Foundation: and $10,000 each from Joseph P. Day. Eugene B. Kline, Joseph Leblang, S. W. Strauss, William S. Sussman, and Samuel Unger###eiden.

Recommended from JTA