Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

I.o.b.b. Elects Officers, Concludes Sessions

June 13, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Installation of several Deputy Grand Masters featured the concluding session of the twenty-fourth annual convention of the Independent Order Brith Sholom at the Breakers Hotel here. It was announced that Judge William M. Lewis of Philadelphia, who was unanimously elected Grand Master, and other officials will be installed at the first meeting of the new Executive Board on June 27.

A. Sigmund Kanengieser of Newark was re-elected Vice-Grand Master and Moses N. Heligott of New York City defeated J. A. Goldstein for the office of Deputy Grand Master for the State of New York. Other deputies elected without opposition were: Peter Littman. Trenton; S. L. Tatz, Providence; Herman P. Kopplemann, Hartford; Max Epstein. Pittsburgh, Samuel Gitelis, Chicago; Isadore Escann, Detroit: Meyer Weintrub, St. Louis; Bernard Schwartz, Los Angeles and William Weinblatt, Baltimore.

Martin O. Levy was re-elected Grand Secretary, Adolph Rosenblum, Assistant Grand Secretary, Jacob Edelstein, Grand Treasurer, and Samuel L. Einhorn. Counsellor of the Order. All are of Philadelphia. Maurice Orenstein was chosen chairman of propaganda, Joseph Nass, chairman of supplies. Max Blumberg, chairman of Jewish activities and Irving E. Klafter, grand conductor. No place was selected for the 1930 convention, this to be decided four months prior to the convention, Mr. Kanengieser stated.

Recommended from JTA