Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Oscar M. Straus Memorial Association Incorporated in N. Y.

June 18, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

An organization whose purpose it will be to perpetuate the memory of Oscar S. Straus, late American Jewish statesman and philanthropist, came into being yesterday when Justice Nathan Bijur of the New York Supreme Court signed a certificate of incorporation for the Oscar S. Straus Memorial Association. Prominent Americans are among the incorporators and members of the board of directors.

An organization meeting of the directors will be held at an early date, when a constitution and by-laws will be adopted and officers elected, it was announced.

The purpose of the organization is to carry out the provisions of Public Resolution No. 100, being a joint resolution of the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States, approved by the President on March 2, 1929, “to erect and maintain as a gift to the people of the United States on public ground in the city of Washington, D. C., with the approval of the Commission of Fine Arts, a monument or memorial in memory of Oscar S. Straus.”

The association will also decide on other ways and means of promoting the ideals which the life of Oscar S. Straus exemplified. The incorporators of the association are Archibald B. Roosevelt, Will H. Hays, William M. Chadbourne, Lawrence F. Abbott, Elon H. Hooker, William Loeb, Emanuel Celler and Louis Marshall. The board of directors consists of the incorporators and the following: Dr. Cyrus Adler, Edwin Beer, Dr. Nicholas Murray Butler, Dr. Frank Montrose Clendenin, George B. Cortelyou, J. J. Curran, Prof. Frederick M. Davenport, William H. P. Faunce, James R. Garfield, Daniel Guggenheim, George S. Hellman, David Hinshaw, Hamilton Holt, Hiram W. Johnson, Robert Underwood Johnson, Darwin P. Kingsley, James Moore, Henry Morgenthau, David N. Mosessohn, Charles P. Neill, Adolph S. Ochs, George Foster Peabody, Leo S. Rowe, Dr. Samuel Schulman, Herbert Knox Smith, James Speyer, Lewis L. Strauss, William R. Willcox, Edmond E. Wise and Dr. Stephen S. Wise.

Recommended from JTA