Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

J. D. B. News Letter

July 3, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The achievements of the Central Conference of American Rabbis and plans for future work were outlined at the closing session of the Central Conference of American Rabbis which closed its six-day convention here yesterday.

A resolution was adopted calling upon Jewish merchants to close their places of business on the High Holidays. Another resolution called upon the conference to undertake excavation work of historical value in Palestine under its own auspices and in conjunction with the Hebrew Union College. Steps were also taken to establish a quarterly journal of Jewish Religion and Ethics.

Rabbi David Lefkowitz of Dallas, Texas, the new president of the Central Conference, will be assisted during the year by the following Executive Board elected at the closing session: Dr. H. G. Enelow, New York; Rabbi Edwin Calisch, Richmond, Va.; Rabbi Julius Rappaport. Racine, Wis.; Rabbi George Fox, Chicago; Rabbi Samuel Mayerberg, Kansas City; Rabbi Solomon Landman, University of Wisconsin.

The Alumni Association of the Hebrew Union College at its annual meeting at the Franklin Country Club announced that it raised $41,800 towards the $5,000,000 Endowment Fund for the College. The Association elected Adolph S. Ochs and Julius Rosenwald, honorary members.

The following officers were elected: Rabbi Martin Zielonka, El Paso, president; Rabbi Emil Leipziger, New Orleans, vice-president; Rabbi Ira Sanders, Little Rock, Ark., secretary; Rabbi Alvin Luchs, New Rochelle, N. Y., treasurer; Rabbi L. Elliot Grafman, Tampa, Fla., historian. The new executive board is composed of David A. Brown, David A. Rosenbaum, Chicago. Michael Aaronsohn, Cincinnati, Israel Kaplan, Jacksonville, Fla., Frank Cohn, Omaha, Neb., Harvey Franklin, Long Beach, Cal., Abraham Feinstein, Huntington, W. Va., and Abraham Hirschberg, Chicago.

Recommended from JTA