Guatemala Restricts East European Immigration
Menu JTA Search

Guatemala Restricts East European Immigration

Download PDF for this date

Under a recent Presidential proclamation, Guatemala has further restricted the type of immigrants that will be permitted freely to enter this country, according to information received by the Department of Labor. The proclamation provides that persons who are natives or have the nationality of Greece, Bulgaria, Roumania, Russia, Persia, Jugoslavia, India, or those countries which formerly formed part of the Russian Empire, and of those of the north coast of Africa, are subject to the restrictions imposed on certain immigrants under the Decree of August 31, 1927.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund