Zeta Beta Tau’s Fifth Annual Award of Gottheil Medal Goes to Felix M. Warburg
Menu JTA Search

Zeta Beta Tau’s Fifth Annual Award of Gottheil Medal Goes to Felix M. Warburg

Download PDF for this date

Felix M. Warburg, the distinguished Jewish philanthropist and leader, has been selected by a committee of sixteen editors of Anglo-Jewish newspapers throughout the United States and Canada to receive the fifth Gottheil Medal. This award is given annually to the American who has done the most for Jewry and Judaism. Mr. Warburg’s recognition is for the year 1929. It was first awarded in 1925 to Rabbi Stephen S. Wise of New York. In 1926 it was received by David Brown of Detroit and New York. In 1927 Aaron Sapiro of New York and California was the recipient and in 1928 Julius Rosenwald of Chicago received the fourth medal.

Mr. Warburg is characterized as a financier, philanthropist, patron of the arts and a citizen whose humanitarianism is without frontiers. His services to the Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropic Societies and to Jewish charities in general, to educational endeavors and to relief work in Eastern Europe mark him as a worthy addition to the illustrious group who have previously received this recognition from the Zeta Beta Tau Fraternity. His more recent activities in behalf of Palestine are evidence of his persistent and continuing interest for his co-religionists.

The presentation will take place on May 10th at the New York City key affair, which will be held in the roof garden of the Park Central Hotel. Forty other gatherings will be held on the same night in the principal Z B T centers of the United States.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund