Wassermann Named Chairman of Agency’s Administrative Body; 15 Americans on Board
Menu JTA Search

Wassermann Named Chairman of Agency’s Administrative Body; 15 Americans on Board

Download PDF for this date

Dr. Oscar Wassermann, chief director of the Deutsche Bank in Berlin and chairman of the board of directors of the Keren Haye-sod, was elected chairman of the Administrative Committee of the Jewish Agency for Palestine yesterday at the first meeting of the newly-elected committee. Dr. Leo Motzkin, chairman of the Zionist Actions Committee, was named vice-chairman of the Administrative Committee.

Of the 40 members of the new Administrative Committee, 15 are from the United States. Eight of the 20 Non-Zionists on the Committee are Americans while seven of the Zionist members are Americans.

The American Non-Zionist members are Dr. Cyrus Adler, president of the American Jewish Committee, of Philadelphia, James Becker of Chicago, Henry Wineman, president of the Jewish Welfare Federation of Detroit, Judge Irving Lehman of New York, Judge Horace Stern of Philadelphia, Dr. Solomon Lowenstein, executive director of the Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropic Societies of New York, Alexander Kahn of New York, and Dr. Lee K. Frankel, vice-president of the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company of New York.

The American Zionist members are Myer Brown of New York, Gedaliah Bublick, president of the Mizrachi; Harry Karp, Morris Rothenberg, national chairman of the American Palestine Campaign; Robert Szold, chairman of administration of the Zionist Organization of America; Dr. Stephen S. Wise, president of the Jewish Institute of Religion, and Rabbi Aaron Teitelbaum of New York.

Professor Herbert Speyer of Belgium, a former member of the Belgian Senate and one of the two vice-chairmen of the Council of the Jewish Agency, agreed to take one of the American places on the Administrative Committee.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund