Peace Terms Made with Non-zionists in Agency Dispute
Menu JTA Search

Peace Terms Made with Non-zionists in Agency Dispute

Download PDF for this date

A split between the Zionists and non-Zionists at the final session of the Council of the Jewish Agency was narrowly averted when an agreement was reached that the present proportion of fifty percent Zionists and a like number of non-Zionists be continued inviolable. At the same time a committee of four was appointed to work out a plan for the reform of the Jewish Agency in other directions.

The agreement was accepted upon the recommendation of a committee of ten, composed of five Zionists and five non-Zionists, which met all day in an endeavor to find a solution for the question.

The non-Zionists appointed to the executive of the Jewish Agency are Dr. Maurice B. Hexter of New York, Dr. Werner Senator of Jerusalem and Dr. Isaac B. Berkson of Jerusalem. The Zionist members of the new executive of the Agency.

will be nominated by the Eighteenth World Zionist Congress and ratified by the administrative committee of the Agency, which meets on Monday.

Robert Szold of New York and Professor Herbert Speyer of Belgium were elected as vice-chairmen of the Council of the Agency.

Both Zionists and non-Zionists are agreed that the chairman of the administrative committee shall be Neville Laski of England. The associate chairman is to be a Zionist, as yet unnamed. The chairmen of the Council of the Agency are to be O. E. d’Avigdor Goldsmid of England and Morris Rothenberg of New York.

Twenty non-Zionists were elected to the Administrative committee, of whom fourteen were reelected. The six newly-elected members include Dr. Maurice Karpf of New York.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund