Sherwood Eddy to Be Guest of Honor at Dinner Sponsored by Bulletin
Menu JTA Search

Sherwood Eddy to Be Guest of Honor at Dinner Sponsored by Bulletin

Download PDF for this date

Sherwood Eddy, former secretary for Asia of the Y.M.C.A. and American sociologist, the only American who dared to protest in Berlin against the Nazis for treatment of the Jews, Liberals and Socialists, will be the guest of honor at a dinner sponsored by the Jewish Daily Bulletin on October 17 at the Hotel Commodore.

The committee of arrangements consists of Frank L. Weil, Justice Joseph M. Proskauer, James Marshall, Roger W. Straus, Dr. Emanuel Libman and Dr. Nathan Ratnoff.

Among those who have joined the dinner committee are: Dr. Stephen P. Duggan; Harry N. Holmes of the World Alliance for International Friendship Through Churches; Frank E. Gannett, president of the Gannett Newspapers; Raymond P. Haighn of the Y.M.C.A.; Dr. Daniel A. Poling, president of the World Christian Endeavor Union; Henry P. Van Dusen of the Union Theological Seminary; William Fellowes Morgan; Edward L. Bernays; Paul Block, newspaper publisher; Dr. Samuel Schulman; Daniel Frohman; B. Vladeck; Rev. Harry Emerson Fosdick of the Riverside Church; Patrick Murphy of Swarthmore College; Mary E. Wooley, of Mt. Holyoke College; Rev. Everett R. Clinchy of the National Conference of Jews and Christians.

Also: H. S. Scheuer; Wolfgang S. Schwabacher, Dr. Hubert C. Herring, Henry S. Coffin, president of the Union Theological Seminary, Louis Wiley of the New York Times.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund