Hartford Y.m.h.a. Elects Offices
Menu JTA Search

Hartford Y.m.h.a. Elects Offices

Download PDF for this date

(Special to the J.D.B)

Julius B.Schatz was elected president of the Greater Harford Y.M.H.A. at an organization meeting attended by many leading Jews of the community. The association elected Frank Dubinsky vice-president; Morris Blumer, recording secretary; Louis Goodman, financial secretary, and Ben Schleifer treasurer.

Eighteen member were selected for the board of directors, as follows: Judge Samuel Rosenthal, Charles Rahn, Isaac Nassau, Judge Abraham S.Borden, Samuel Neusner, Morris Stolper, George Glassman, Nathan Gruber, Benjamin Poriss, Louis Myers, Nathan Araron, James E. Ravich, David Levy, James Bauer, Harold Borden, Samuel Elowitz, Abrahm Goldstein and Saul Berman. The directors are to organize in a few days, name standing committees and give consideraton to a permanent headquarters for the association.

The appointment by President Roosevelt of Rabbi Abraham J.Feldman as chairman of theConnecticut NRA Adjustment Board has been confirmed. He will begin the volunteer duties on the important commission immediately. Rabbi Feldman received a telegram from Gerneral Hugh S.Johnson, natona’ administrator, informing him of the appointment.

“Jewish Religion in a Changing World” was the subject of a talk given Wednesday night by Abraham J.Gellinoff of New York City at the meeting of the Emanuel Brotherhood. The speaker is vice president of the National Federation of Jewish Men’s Clubs of the United synagogue, A dinner was served before the talk and Louis Y.Gaberman, president of the brotherhood, presided.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund