2 American Non-zionists Named to Agency’s Executive
Menu JTA Search

2 American Non-zionists Named to Agency’s Executive

Download PDF for this date

Two Americans, Dr. Maurice J. Karpf, head of the Graduate School of Jewish Social Research in New York, and Dr. Maurice B. Hexter, formerly of Boston and now of Jerusalem, were elected non-Zionist members of the Executive of the Jewish Agency for Palestine, at the closing session here this afternoon of the Agency Council. The third non-Zionist member elected to the Executive is Dr. Werner Senator of Jerusalem.

An agreement had been reached late last night by which the non-Zionists were to be given 3 instead of 2 seats in the Executive.

Morris Rothenberg, president of the Zionist Organization of America, and Lord Melchett were elected co-chairmen of the Jewish Agency Council. The Council, which had been in session here two days, approved all the resolutions adopted earlier this week by the nineteenth World Zionist Congress.

Describing the difficulties of upbuilding work in Palestine, Dr. Chaim Weizmann, newly elected president of the World Zionist Organization and the Jewish Agency, declared in his closing address: “I hear from several sides that Palestine is too small to absorb all the Jews of the world. But I can tell you that four years ago Lord Passfield told us during our negotiations that there is no place in Palestine even for a cat, and look at Palestine now! More than 200,000 Jews entered Palestine during the last two years.”

Commenting on the joint activity of Zionists and non-Zionists on behalf of Palestine in the Agency’s council, Dr. Weizmann said “The work of the council, whows us that there are not many differences between the Zionists and non-Zionists, and your good start shall contribute to the upbuilding of Palestine.”

Other speakers were Neville Laski, president of the British Board of Jewish Deputies, Abraham Harzfeld, labor leader in Palestine; Jacob Lestchinsky, Samuel Schulman and Professor

Schorr of Warsaw, Joseph Sprinzak of Palestine, Menachem Mendel Ussishkin, head of the Jewish National Fund, and Dr. Nahum Sokolow, newly elected honorary president of the World Zionist Organization and the Jewish Agency.

Mr. Laski criticized the mandatory power for its policy of restricting immigration of Jews at a time when the country requires new workers most urgently. Obviously referring to Transjordan, he demanded that Government land “in Palestine and beyond” be made available for immediate and intensive Jewish colonization.

At the morning session Max Ritter van Anhauch made a strong plea on behalf of Palestine shipping and for maritime training of Jews.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund