Dutch Nazis Routed in Election; 7 Jews Win Seats
Menu JTA Search

Dutch Nazis Routed in Election; 7 Jews Win Seats

Download PDF for this date

The Liberal Government of Premier Hendryk Colijn was buttressed by a strong vote of confidence from the Netherlands electorate today after parliamentary elections which saw the Nazi-inclined Mussert party suffer a decisive set-back, the Havas News Agency reported.

The final results of yesterday’s ballotting for both houses of the States General (Parliament) clearly revealed that the Netherlands were opposed to the Rightist political aspirations of A.A. Mussert and his followers.

In the returns, the Mussert group gained only four seats. It had hoped to gain at least eight seats in the election, the first in which the Nazi-inclined group had presented candidates.

Mussert’s candidates obtained a total of 171,057 votes yesterday as compared to 294,596 ballots secured in the provincial elections.

In commenting on the results, Mussert said “yesterday was Colijn’s day, ours will come.”

Colijn declared “the people cried halt to the National Socialists by approving the policies of the Government.”

Seven Jews were among the 100 members elected to the Second Chamber. They are Dr. Vos, Liberal; Mr. Cohen and Mrs. Bakker, Radicals; Mr. Wijnkoop, Communist; and Prof. Van Goldoron, Mr. Stovkis and Miss do Jong, Socialists.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund