Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Twelve Members of Senate Foreign Relations Committee Favor Palestine Resolution

December 17, 1944
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Twelve members of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, seven Democrats and five Republicans, which earlier this week postponed action on the Palestine Resolution at the request of the State Department, today made public a joint statement recording their personal approval of the resolution.

The twelve Senators constitute two-thirds of the total of 18 members of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee who actively participated in consideration of the Palestine Resolution. Their statement reads: “Although the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, at the request of the State Department, postponed action for the time being on the Palestine Resolution, we wish to record our own personal approval of the resolution which calls for the free entry of Jews into Palestine and full opportunity for colonization, so that the Jewish people may as soon as practicable reconstitute Palestine as a free and democratic Commonwealth.”

The Senators are; Joseph F. Guffey, Pennsylvania; Claude Pepper, Florida; Bennett Champ Clark, Missouri; Elbert D. Thomas, Utah; James E. Murray, Montana; James M. Tuanell, Delaware, and Robert R. Reynolds, North Carolina, Democrats; Senators Robert M. La Folletts, Jr., Wisoonsin, Progressive; Arthur Capper, Kansas; Gerald P. Nye, North Dekota; Henrik Shipstead, Minnesota, and James J. Davis, Pennsylvania, Republicans.

Recommended from JTA