Joint Defense Appeal Conference Adopts $6,000,000 Budget for Fighting Anti-semtism
Menu JTA Search

Joint Defense Appeal Conference Adopts $6,000,000 Budget for Fighting Anti-semtism

Download PDF for this date

A $6,000,000 budget for 1947 for continuing the activities of the American Jewish Committee and the B’nai B’rith Anti-Defamation League against anti-Semitism was adopted here last night at the first national conference of the Joint Defense Appeal.

A resolution calling for a nation-wide drive to collect this sum was unanimously voted by the 1,000 Jewish communal leaders attending the parley. The resolution also asked that communities outside of New York and Chicago raise a minimum of $3,000,000 toward the new budget, which is 20 percent higher than the one for last year.

At today’s session Donald Oberdorfer of Atlanta was elected chairman of the national council of the J.D.A. Judge Joseph M. Proskauer, Henry Monsky, Justice Meir Steinbrink and Jacob Blaustein were elected honorary chairman, while A.C. Horn of New York was elected honorary treasurer. The eight vice-chairman are: Albert H. Lieberman of Philadelphia, Edmund Waterman of New York, Avery Carp of East St. Louis, Charles W. Morris of Louisville, Benjamin J. Scheinman of Los Angeles, Max J. Schneider of New York, Alan M. Stroock of New York and Ben Samuels of Chicago. Richard M. Lederer, Arnold Askin and Maurice Glinert, all of New York, were named secretary, treasurer and assistant treasurer, respectively.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund