Four Authors Get Awards for Yiddish and Hebrew Works
Menu JTA Search

Four Authors Get Awards for Yiddish and Hebrew Works

Download PDF for this date

Four Louis LaMed prizes for Yiddish and Hebrew literary awards for 1950 were officially presented here last night at a special ceremony held at the New School for Social Research. The awards were given to: Itzhak Barshewits for his Yiddish novel “The Family Muscat;” Yechiel Stern for his Yiddish treatise on Jewish education in pre-war Eastern Europe; Menachem Ribalow for his book of Hebrew essays entitled “The Pitcher to the Well;” and Dr. Sholom Spiegel for his study in Hebrew of the Biblical legends concerning the offering of the Patriarch Isaac as a sacrifice.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund