Cabinet Approves Composition of Israel’s Delegation to U. N. Assembly
Menu JTA Search

Cabinet Approves Composition of Israel’s Delegation to U. N. Assembly

Download PDF for this date

Israel’s Cabinet today approved the composition of the Government’s delegation to the United Nations General Assembly, which will convene September 15.

Mrs. Golda Meir, the Foreign Minister, will head the delegation, during the early weeks of the Assembly, after which the chairmanship will be taken over by Arthur Lourie, Israel’s Ambassador to Canada. Other members of the delegation will be: Yosef Tekoah, acting permanent representative at the United Nations; Michael S. Comay, deputy director-general of the Foreign Ministry, former Ambassador to Canada; Shabtai Rosenne, legal adviser to the Foreign Ministry; and Avraham Darom, Israeli Minister to Yugoslavia, an expert on Latin American affairs.

After approving the delegation list, the Cabinet heard reports from Mrs. Meir about the delegation’s plans for participating in various issues coming before the Assembly, especially Israel’s participation in the debate concerning the Algerian problem. The Cabinet also discussed the latest developments regarding the United Arab Republic’s interference with the freedom of shipping through the Suez Canal.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund