Swedish-Israel Foundation Established; Nobel Prize Winner is President
Menu JTA Search

Swedish-Israel Foundation Established; Nobel Prize Winner is President

Download PDF for this date

A Swedish-Israel Foundation was established here last night for financial support of Israel and to foster scientific and cultural exchanges between the two countries.

The founding meeting, which was held in the new Wenner-Gren Center, elected a 30-man board made up of Sweden’s leading personalities in science and culture. Professor Hugo Theorell, Nobel Prize winner and honorary member of the Weizmann Institute, was elected president of the foundation. Prof. Y. Zotterman was named chairman.

Professor Theorell told the gathering that "small countries must cooperate in filling the gaps" in their scientific programs. He added that "Israeli scientists have visited Sweden but fewer Swedes have visited Israel since not everyone is aware of the explosive development of Israel’s science." Israel Ambassador Arie Aroch expressed the thanks of his government for creation of the foundation.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund