Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Benjamin Ulin Elected President of Jewish Philanthropies of Boston

September 25, 1962
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Benjamin Ulin, veteran Boston Jewish community leader, was elected president of the Combined Jewish Philanthropies of Greater Boston at its 67th annual meeting held last night at the Statler Hilton Hotel. Edwin Wolf, 2nd, president of the Federation of Jewish Agencies of Greater Philadelphia, was guest speaker.

Mr. Ulin served as the first chairman of the Large City Budgeting Conference of the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds. He succeeds Louis P, Smith who has served as the first president of the CJP. since the merger of the Associated Jewish Philanthropies and Combined Jewish Appeal in 1960. Dr. Benjamin B. Rosenberg is executive director of the CJP.

Vice-presidents elected include: Norman L Cahners, Mrs. J. Maynard Cashman, David Kane, David R. Pokress, George Shapiro, Sidney Stoneman, and Bertram C. Tackeff. Philip W. Down was re-elected treasurer. Associate treasurers are Leon Margolis and William Scheft. Newly elected secretary is Howard Rubin, and associate secretaries are Arnold R. Cutler and Mrs. Isadore Slotnick. Mrs. Ferdinand Strauss II was elected president of the Women’s division, succeeding Mrs. J. Maynard Cashman.

Recommended from JTA