Urges Catholic Graduates to Foster Ecumenical Advances
Menu JTA Search

Urges Catholic Graduates to Foster Ecumenical Advances

Download PDF for this date

The first Jewish speaker at the annual commencement exercises for the only Catholic women’s college in Manhattan told the graduates today that it was their duty to continue the ecumenical advances made between Christians and Jews in the past decade.

The appearance of Dr. Joseph L. Lichten, intercultural affairs director of the Anti-Defamation League of B’nai B’rith, at the exercises at Marymount Manhattan College was one of a series of events marking expanded Christian-Jewish cooperation.

Iona College, a Catholic institution in New Rochelle, N.Y., announced appointment of the first two Jewish members of its board of lay trustees. They are Nathan Kalikow, a construction executive, and Leon Weiss, an accountant.

Rabbi Theodore Levy of the Temple Society of Concord in Syracuse, N.Y., was named resident lecturer at LeMoyne College. The Very Rev. William L. Reilly, a Jesuit priest who is president of the Catholic college, made the announcement while preaching at the Temple in the first appearance by a priest at a synagogue in Syracuse. Tracey Ferguson, Temple president, is a member of the board of trustees of LeMoyne College. Another Temple leader, Jerome M. Wilson, was named recently to the college board.

A course on rabbinic Judaism and the Talmud will be given for the first time next year at John Carroll University, a Jesuit institution in Cleveland. Rabbi Earl A. Jordan, associate rabbi at Fairmount Temple, will join the university’s theology faculty to give the course. The Jewish Chatauqua Society is sponsoring the course.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund