Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Ajcongress Presents 1970 Stephen Wise Awards to Warren, Swig, Poller

November 23, 1970
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Former Chief Justice Earl Warren of the United States Supreme Court accepted the 1970 Stephen Wise Award for “distinguished achievement in advancing human freedom” at the annual Stephen Wise Awards dinner of the American Jewish Congress here tonight. He warned, in an address to the 500 guests, that racial discrimination in the U.S. “has persisted to the point where it threatens the very existence of our institutions and the premise on which they are based. Rabbi Arthur J. Lelyveld of Cleveland, AJCongress president, presented the awards. Stephen Wise Awards were also presented to Benjamin H. Swig, a San Francisco hotel owner and philanthropist and Shad Polier, a N.Y. attorney who is past chairman of the AJCongress’ national governing council. Mr. Polier was honored for more than 25 years of leadership in the Congress. Mr. Swig’s award was for “distinguished achievement in strengthening Jewish life.”

Recommended from JTA