1980 Smolar Awards Competition Opens
Menu JTA Search

1980 Smolar Awards Competition Opens

Download PDF for this date

Submissions are being accepted now for the 1980 Smolar Awards for Excellence in North American Jewish Journalism, sponsored by the Council of Jewish Federations (CJF). Entries must be postmarked no later than June 2 to quality for consideration.

Soul Viener, chairman of the CJF Smolar Award Committee, said that the competition for 1980 will be organized around four new categories: Public Affairs, Human Interest, Opinion, and Magazine Writing. The number of awards in each category will be decided by CJF Smolar Awards Committee, the lay and professional leaders from communities across North America who judge the competition.

These and other new features in the format and regulations of the Smolar Awards were developed by the Committee in consultation with past award winners, participants in the competition, and others. Renovations reflect the expanding parameters of the competition since its founding in 1972.

The awards recognize distinguished achievements by journalists whose works appear in American and Canadian newspapers and magazines predominantly devoted to the coverage of Jewish communal affairs. The awards were founded in honor of Boris Smolar, Editor-in-Chief Emeritus of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund