Menu JTA Search

News Brief

Download PDF for this date

The Wolf Foundation prize in physics for 1983/84 is to be presented to two Californians and an Oxford professor for their separate”…distinct pioneering contributions in the field of experimental condensed matter physics,” the Foundation announced here. Prof. Erwin Hahn, of the University of California in Berkeley, Dr. Theodore Maiman of TRW, Inc., Los Angeles and Sir Peter Hirsch, of Oxford University, will share the $100,000 prize. The prizes are to be presented to recipients in the Knesset next May.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund